Getting Hurt is Overrated

I’ve reached a point where the constant cycle of getting hurt feels highly overrated. It seems like every blink brings grief, the loss of a friend, a stubbed toe, or an accidental burn from an iron. But jokes aside, the truth is, getting hurt by people has become so commonplace that it no longer surprises me. I find myself almost anticipating who will hurt me next, and when it inevitably happens, there’s a resigned acceptance: “Okay, another one down.” It’s not that I’m indifferent to the pain—far from it. I’m simply exhausted by it. I’ve come to understand that miscommunication often plays a role, yet solutions remain elusive. Instead of acknowledging the possibility of being wrong, we cling to the belief that our perspective is flawless.

But amidst this weariness, I’ve stumbled upon an underrated antidote for the pain: forgiveness. I was grappling with intense anger, unforgiveness, and hurt one night when I turned to Matthew 18 in the Bible to seek guidance. Verse 35 struck a chord: “So also my heavenly Father will do to you unless every one of you forgives his brother or sister from your heart.”

Upon reading this scripture and its commentary, my perspective shifted. Instead of dwelling on the wrongs done to me, I reflected on my own transgressions against God. I pondered His swift and unconditional forgiveness despite my unworthiness. I realized that clinging to unforgiveness only perpetuated my pain. I wasn’t disregarding the hurt inflicted upon me, but I refused to let it wield power over my freedom to let go.

There are still moments when I must pray for those who hurt me, but I no longer allow myself to be consumed by negative emotions. I’ve found solace in the freedom of forgiveness, knowing that God, despite having every reason to hold a grudge against me, chose to forgive. Hurt is overrated because we give it undue attention. Conversely, forgiveness is underrated because we fail to prioritize it. Let’s change that narrative, shall we?

Leave a comment